Photos From Blind Pilot


On Monday night, I got to go see the the Portland native band Blind Pilot at the Boulder Theater. Luckily, I was able to go to this concert for free. Working for the CU Independent, I can get a photo pass to most concerts, as was the case with Blind Pilot. Blind Pilot is a six man ensemble with a focus on spreading their soft, indie vibe. They formed in 2007, after lead singer Israel Nebeker and drummer Ryan Dobrowski performed at local venues all around the west coast, using bicycles as their only form of transportation. Blind Pilot now consists of Luke Ydstie (bassist), Ian Krist (vibraphone/drums), Dave Jorgensen (trumpet/piano), and Kati Claborn (banjo/dulcimer/vocals) in addition to the two original members.

I had listened to Blind Pilot’s music often, so I was excited. I grabbed my Canon Rebel T2i along with my 50mm f/1.8 lens and a borrowed 70-200mm f/2.8 lens. I soon realized how difficult it would be to get good shots with the low light at the concert. After practicing and trying out settings while the opening act was playing, I figured out how to get the pictures the way I wanted them to look. For most of the pictures, I opened the aperture all the way up (f/1.8 on the 50mm and f/2.8 on the 70-200mm) and shot with a shutter speed of 1/125 of a second to 1/400 of a second, all while keeping the ISO at 3200. The pictures didn’t turn out grainy, and I kept around 20 of the 200 shots I took at the concert. The only problem was the three song rule imposed on photographers: you can only take pictures during the first three songs, despite the fact that the band shows much more emotion towards the end of the concert. It was an enjoyable experience, and a great first time shooting a concert. From start to finish, Blind Pilot showed off their gentle, fun-loving vibe, fitting in with the down-to-earth Boulderites.

Photos:

Leave a Reply

