Rocky Mountain Suckdown


Note: This is something I wrote in September but never published for whatever reason (stupid past Kai).

Tony Jones looks for an opening on Saturday, Sept. 1st at Sports Authority Field. Jones, a sophomore, rushed for 43 yards on 16 carries. (CU Independent/Kai Casey)

Tony Jones looks for an opening on Saturday, Sept. 1st at Sports Authority Field. Jones, a sophomore, rushed for 43 yards on 16 carries. (CU Independent/Kai Casey)

I got to take pictures at the CU-CSU annual “rivarly” football game. It’s not really a rivalry. It’s more like two schools that suck at football play each other each year to see who sucks even more. I don’t even hate CSU. This game could be any game of the year for all I care. The only difference is that this game gets a fancy, special name (“The Rocky Mountain Showdown”) and an NFL field to play on (BONUS!). The field is what got me super excited to take pictures. And the fact that I had never taken pictures of a football game.

I got there in the middle of all the students tailgating and had no idea where to park. I apparently tried to park in a handicapped parking lot so the bossy, important, orange-vest-wearing lady (you know you’re important if you have one of those neat, orange vests) told me to leave. As I was pulling out, some crazy redneck driving a truck (obviously) cut some poor old lady off, then proceeded to turn his whole body around (while driving) and flip her the dirtiest double bird. I wish I would’ve taken a picture because the stupid redneck’s stupid face was filled with so much hate. This was the angriest middle finger I had ever seen. It might as well have had a tomato red face with angry eyebrows.

I parked after driving around the stadium 14 times and walked around like an idiot because I had no idea where to go. I finally found two photographers and followed them all James Bond-like into the tunnel. They had more camera gear than I even knew existed. While they were getting cavity searched and scanned for metal, one of them turned to me and said, “Ha! You should’ve gone first. You only have those two small cameras with small lenses and I have 18 cameras and a 2000mm lens! I am sooo cool.” (Paraphrasing). I found my way to the photographers’ room. That thing is so cool. It’s full of people doing the job I dream of doing someday. Sports photographers. Living their lives game by game. Someday, I hope to be coming back here for years to come.

Photos:

2 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain Suckdown

  1. As a long term CU fan I couldn’t agree more, they both suck. Thank goodness we have a new coach, he can’t possibly be any worse than the last two.

Leave a Reply

